Shifting Gears | Prime Political

Gene Smith
2 min readAug 7, 2019

Hello everyone. It is once again “campaign season” for America and the process of electing law makers is upon us. Voters will be asked to research, support and elect candidates for numerous offices up and down the ballot. Political junkies like myself understand elections are ever present. Every two years our House of Representatives subjects itself to this under the rules established in our Constitution.

Campaigns must have a brain trust in place to establish the platform it runs on. Campaign professionals are headhunted to give the candidate the best chance of winning. The two most important parts are getting on the ballot and fundraising. Qualified people who can work in tandem on a campaign to achieve this goal give the candidate a significant “leg up” on an election.

Campaign experience is invaluable. The pool of campaign aides is a small one. As chance would have it, I am in that pool. I am retired, so there is no one that owns my time. For that reason I will be “shifting gears” to reduce the amount of time spent writing for myself.

What would you do if given the time?

Since being forced to retire, writing has been the outlet I selected to express researched opinions. Subsequently, I have been asked to work on several campaigns. One door opens when another one closes. This is so true if you keep an open mind.

It is safe to say I am not in the category of “mercenary” as it relates to who I choose to work for. By this I mean…

--

--

Gene Smith

Juris Doctor, Retired Law Enforcement, contributor to The Ascent. Host of the podcast, “Hanging ith Uncle” #follow back followers